About us

Mission NL Coastguard

The Netherlands Coastguard is an independent civil organization with own tasks, competences and responsibilities. The NL Coastguard has three main goals:

- A responsible use of the North Sea;
- To provide services that contribute to safety and security at sea;
- Upholding (inter)national laws and duties.











Present organization and tasks

The NL Coastguard is controlled by the Coastguard Fourmanship (KW4) that can be seen as a daily management. Chairman of the KW4 is the Director North Sea of the Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment (the coordinating Ministry for Coastguard affairs). Other members are the Chairman of the Law Enforcement Committee North Sea, the Director Planning and Control of the Royal Netherlands Navy (operational administrator of the Netherlands Coastguard) and the Director Netherlands Coastguard.

Besides that there is a Coastguard Council. The members of this Council are Directors General of the participating departments and it acts as a front office to the Council of Ministers. This Council gives its approval to the yearly Activity Plan and Budget (APB) and the annual Coastguard report.

Coastguard tasks

The NL Coastguard carries out 15 tasks for six ministries (seven provision of service tasks and eight law enforcement tasks). These tasks are mentioned on the page What we do.

the ministries are:
- Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management
     - Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport
     - Directorate-General Public works and Water Management
- Ministry of Defence
     - Royal Netherlands Navy
     - Royal Netherlands Marechaussee (Military Police)
     - Royal Netherlands Airforce
- Ministry of Justice and Security
     - Public Prosecution Service
     - National Police Force
     - National Crisis Centre
- Ministry of Finance
     - Customs
- Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy
     - State Supervision of Mines
- Ministry of Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality
     - The Food and Consumer Product Safety Authority


From various Government Departments personnel is assigned to the Coastguard:

- Directorate-General Public works and Water Management
- Maritime Police
- Royal Netherlands Navy
- Royal Netherlands Airforce
- Customs
- Royal Netherlands Marechaussee (Military Police)
- The Food and Consumer Product Safety Authority
- Human Environment and Transport

We make permanent use of the lifeboats of the Royal Netherlands Sea Rescue Organization (KNRM) and we co-operate closely with a number of Traffic Centres at the large harbours (Rotterdam, Amsterdam, Flushing, Scheveningen and Den Helder) and manned lighthouses at Schiermonnikoog, Terschelling and Ouddorp.

See the page 'Partners' where all parties, the Coastguard co-operates with, are mentioned. The Royal Netherlands Meteorological Institute supplies the weather forecasts and storm warnings for the North Sea. The Coastguard Centre takes care of the transmission of these messages by radio and NAVTEX.

The Director Coastguard is an officer of The Royal Netherlands Navy.